The Things you Come across while in the Garden.

Being new to gardening, everything I come by is an anomaly and therefore fascinating to me, like these Carolina Horsenettle plants that have actual spikes on the undersides of their leaves. Boy were those an exciting discovery as I eagerly pulled weeds from the garden beds. I have, over the course of the several weeks compiled a meager collection of photos of all the fascinating subjects I have found from the garden simply because I have never had the chance to see these before.

Image

Like this beautiful blue eggshell I found in the cucumber patch one day. I want to say it’s a robin’s egg (since the color is exactly what my “robin egg’s blue” crayon looked like and not because I’ve done any sort of research about it) and since there are no trees hanging over this particular area, I’m assuming it was the result of some predator that had gotten into this robin’s nest. Apologies that the photo is upside down btw. I was getting really artsy and really trying to get a nice angle with the iphone.

 

Image

And this poor spider mom that was frantically trying to move away from my trowel while protecting her sack of eggs. It looked kind of like a miniature golf ball!

Image

Kevin somehow came across this enormous pile of oyster shells. He was hoping that he was digging into fossils and that this land was once an ocean. I had my doubts. I was thinking someone had an oyster bake (you know, like a clam bake) at one point. Nick (Intern from the summer of 2013) said it was most likely some dumb person who thought putting whole oyster shells into the soil would help to restore iodine levels (they should be crushed if it was for that purpose). And a professor from the Architecture department thinks it just a garbage heap from the 1900s. Anyways, it was quite the exciting dig. Image

And look! Another type of shell! So many cool things to be seen at 79 Alexander!

 

 

 

One thought on “The Things you Come across while in the Garden.

  1. Hey there! I’m at work browsing your blog from my new iphone!
    Just wanted to say I love reading your blog and look forward to
    all your posts! Carry on the outstanding work! – ABC102.

Leave a Reply

